Cybersecurity: 5 Key Actions for Businesses and Local Authorities

Cybersecurity

Cybersecurity: the Right Thing to Do for Businesses and Public Authorities

While 54% of businesses suffered at least one cyber attack in 2021, cybersecurity is no longer an option but a necessity. These frequent incidents can have devastating consequences for businesses, since the median cost of a cyber attack is around €50,000. What good cyber security practices should you be following? TYREX gives you 5 key pieces of advice.

1. Corporate Cybersecurity: Take Care When Using USB Ports

USB media can be a major vector for computer threats (viruses, malware, etc.). They represent around 37% of intrusions. Whether it’s a USB key or an external hard drive, it’s essential to be careful when using them.

You need to educate your employees and any service providers who may work on your site. Curiosity often leads IT users to plug in USB peripherals without knowing where they come from.

According to the “Users Really Do Plug in USB Drives They Find” study carried out by Google, 48% of users who find a USB flash drive randomly (on the floor, on the corner of a table, etc.) pick them up and plug them in. This can have serious consequences for a company or public organisation.

To go further, organisations can also secure all removable media by adding one or more decontamination stations, as TYREX offers. By analysing USB media, our decontamination kiosks detect and eliminate threats for safe connection.

CTA: Discover TYREX solutions

2. Choose Strong Passwords

Passwords are the key to accessing your computer or certain software applications or online platforms, and are one of the most sensitive aspects of IT security.

Choosing strong passwords is essential for a company’s security. A good password should be long, ideally more than 12 characters, and combine upper and lower case letters, numbers, and symbols.

On the other hand, avoid common words, proper names, or dates that are easy to guess. Use secret phrases or random combinations of words and characters. In the same spirit, don’t use the same password for several accounts.

Change it after each incident. You could also consider using a password manager to store passwords securely, or activate two-factor authentication where possible.

3. Install Anti-virus and Anti-malware Software

Installing anti-virus and anti-malware software in your company helps to protect your IT infrastructure against cyber threats. This software serves as the first line of defence against viruses, malware, ransomware, or any other form of malicious software that can compromise sensitive data, disrupt operations, and damage a company’s reputation (and its cash flow!).

To choose the right antivirus solution, remember to take into account:

  • The level of security offered: make sure the software offers comprehensive protection, including detection of viruses, malware, spyware, and ransomware;
  • Lightweight installation: the software must be effective without significantly impacting system performance;
  • Ease of integration: the solution must be easy and quick to deploy in your existing IT infrastructure and support its development;
  • Frequency of automatic scans and updates: opt for solutions that regularly scan the data on the company’s computer or server to eliminate threats as quickly as possible;
  • The quality of customer support: in the event of an incident or attack, pay attention to the quality and availability of customer service.

4. Enable Only Certain IP Addresses

By the strategic use of an .htaccess file for access control based on IP address.

Using an .htaccess file for IP Restriction allows you to block access to certain IP addresses to prevent access by undesirable users or IP addresses known to be malicious. Conversely, you can configure the .htaccess file to allow access only to specific IP addresses.

5. Using a VPN

With the emergence of remote working and the need for business travel, companies need to make employees aware of the potential dangers present on public networks or networks shared by several users. In this respect, they may require the use of a VPN to secure communications and data processing.

This ensures:

  • Greater security for the organisation, since the VPN will provide a secure connection between the employee’s computer and the company server. Encrypted, it prevents malicious software or hackers from intercepting or stealing sensitive data;
  • Greater confidentiality. VPN preserves anonymity and confidentiality for online activities. Even when working from home, employees can surf the Internet without revealing their real location. It also protects them from advertising tracking and privacy intrusions;
  • Easy access to restricted content. Finally, VPN also enables the user’s IP address to be virtually changed, making it impossible for remote servers to detect their real geographical location. This function is essential for accessing content or internal systems restricted only to certain IP addresses or geographically.

There are many VPN solutions available, with features that provide varying levels of security. Think about comparing solutions to find one that’s right for your business.

Delegate Cyber Security to an Expert

Cyber outsourcing involves delegating the management and security of your IT systems and network infrastructure to a specialist third party. It allows a business to use a single service provider to combine IS management and protection of sensitive data.

As a subsidiary of the RAS group, TYREX works hand in hand with ARMADA solutions management. Advanced antivirus, VPN, secure servers, SOC, different levels of security are offered to ensure the use of data and the cyber security of the company.

ÇA VOUS INTÉRESSERA

KUB CLEANER changes its name to TYREX

KUB CLEANER changes its name to TYREX

Objective: launch our new large-scale growth strategy Founded in 2017, TYREX (formerly KUB), the French leader in USB decontamination solutions, is changing its name and launching its new growth strategy, which will enable it to extend its market share in France, but...

RETROUVEZ NOS autres ARTICLES DE LA MÊME CATÉGORIE

KUB CLEANER changes its name to TYREX

KUB CLEANER changes its name to TYREX

Objective: launch our new large-scale growth strategy Founded in 2017, TYREX (formerly KUB), the French leader in USB decontamination solutions, is changing its name and launching its new growth strategy, which will enable it to extend its market share in France, but...

read more

CONTACT US!

2 RUE DU 19 MARS 1962
92 110 CLICHY – FRANCE

+33 (0)1 74 90 39 00

CONTACT@TYREX-CYBER.COM

Cybersécurité : 5 gestes clés en entreprise ou collectivité

Cybersécurité

CYBERSÉCURITÉ : LES BONS GESTES À ADOPTER EN ENTREPRISE OU EN COLLECTIVITÉ

Alors que 54 % des entreprises ont subi au moins une cyberattaque en 2021, la cybersécurité n’est plus une option mais une nécessité. Ces incidents fréquents peuvent avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour l’entreprise puisque le coût médian d’une cyberattaque se situe aux alentours de 50 000 euros. Quelles bonnes pratiques de cybersécurité adopter ? TYREX vous donne 5 conseils phares.

1. CYBERSÉCURITÉ EN ENTREPRISE : FAIRE ATTENTION À L’UTILISATION DES PORTS USB

Les supports USB peuvent être un vecteur majeur de menaces informatiques (virus, malwares, etc.). Ils représentent environ 37% des intrusions. Qu’il s’agisse d’une clé USB ou d’un disque dur externe, il est donc essentiel de faire preuve de prudence lors de leur utilisation.

Il convient de faire de la pédagogie auprès de ses salariés et des prestataires qui peuvent intervenir sur le site de l’entreprise. En effet, bien souvent la curiosité pousse les usagers informatiques à brancher des périphériques USB sans en connaître la provenance.

D’après l’étude « Users Really Do Plug in USB Drives They Find » réalisée par Google, 48% des utilisateurs qui trouvent une clé USB au hasard (par terre, sur un coin de table, etc.) les ramassent et les branchent. Un geste dont les conséquences peuvent être dramatiques pour une entreprise ou un organisme public.

Afin d’aller plus loin, les organisations peuvent également sécuriser l’ensemble des supports amovibles par l’ajout d’une ou plusieurs bornes de décontamination, comme le propose TYREX. En analysant les supports USB, nos stations blanches détectent et éliminent les menaces pour un branchement en toute sécurité.

CTA : Découvrir les solutions TYREX

2. CHOISIR DES MOTS DE PASSE ROBUSTES

Clé d’entrée dans l’ordinateur ou dans certains logiciels ou plateforme en ligne, le mot de passe fait partie des points sensibles en ce qui concerne la sécurité informatique.

Choisir des mots de passe robustes est essentiel pour la sécurité d’une entreprise. Un bon mot de passe doit être long, idéalement plus de 12 caractères, et combiner lettres majuscules et minuscules, chiffres et symboles.

D’autre part, évitez les mots courants, noms propres, ou dates faciles à deviner. Utilisez des phrases secrètes ou des combinaisons aléatoires de mots et de caractères. Dans la même logique, ne gardez pas le même mot de passe pour plusieurs comptes.

Après chaque incident, changez-le. Vous pouvez aussi envisager l’utilisation d’un gestionnaire de mots de passe pour stocker en toute sécurité ou activez l’authentification à deux facteurs lorsque c’est possible.

3. INSTALLER DES ANTIVIRUS ET ANTIMALWARES

L’installation d’antivirus et d’antimalwares en entreprise sert à protéger les infrastructures informatiques contre les menaces cyber. Ces logiciels servent de première ligne de défense contre les virus, les malwares, les ransomwares ou toute autre forme de logiciels malveillants qui peuvent compromettre les données sensibles, perturber les opérations, nuire à la réputation de l’entreprise (et à sa trésorerie !).

Pour bien choisir la solution antivirus pensez à prendre en compte :

  • Le niveau de sécurité offert : assurez-vous que le logiciel offre une protection complète, incluant la détection de virus, malwares, spywares, ransomwares ;
  • La légèreté d’installation : le logiciel doit être efficace sans impacter significativement les performances du système ;
  • La facilité d’intégration : la solution doit pouvoir être déployée facilement et rapidement dans votre infrastructure IT existante et en accompagner l’évolution ;
  • La fréquence des analyses et mises à jour automatiques : Privilégiez les solutions qui scannent régulièrement les données présentes dans l’ordinateur ou le serveur de l’entreprise pour éliminer le plus rapidement les menaces ;
  • La qualité du support client : en cas d’incident ou d’attaques, faites attention à la qualité du service client et à sa disponibilité.

4. HABILITER SEULEMENT CERTAINES ADRESSES IP

Par l’utilisation stratégique d’un fichier .htaccess pour le contrôle d’accès basé sur l’adresse IP.

En effet, l’utilisation d’un fichier .htaccess pour la Restriction IP permet de bloquer l’accès à certaines adresses IP pour empêcher l’accès aux utilisateurs indésirables ou aux adresses IP connues pour être malveillantes. Inversement, vous pouvez configurer le fichier .htaccess pour n’autoriser l’accès qu’à des adresses IP spécifiques.

5. UTILISER UN VPN

Avec l’émergence du télétravail et les nécessités de déplacement professionnel, l’entreprise doit sensibiliser les collaborateurs aux dangers potentiels présents sur les réseaux publics ou partagés entre plusieurs utilisateurs. En la matière, elles peuvent exiger l’utilisation d’un VPN pour sécuriser les communications et le traitement des données.

Ce dernier assure :

  • Plus de sécurité pour l’organisation puisque le VPN va offrir une connexion sécurisée entre l’ordinateur de l’employé et le serveur de l’entreprise. Cryptée, elle permet d’empêcher à des logiciels malveillants ou des pirates informatiques d’intercepter ou de voler des données sensibles ;
  • Plus de confidentialité. Le VPN préserve l’anonymat et la confidentialité des activités en ligne. Même en travaillant depuis chez eux, les employés peuvent naviguer sur internet sans révéler leur localisation réelle. Cela les protège aussi contre le suivi publicitaire et les intrusions dans la vie privée ;
  • Facilité d’accès à contenu restreint. Enfin, le VPN permet également de changer virtuellement l’adresse IP de l’utilisateur, rendant impossible pour les serveurs distants de détecter leur emplacement géographique réel. Cette fonction est essentielle pour accéder à des contenus ou des systèmes internes restreints uniquement à certaines adresses IP ou géographiquement.

Les solutions VPN sont nombreuses et les fonctionnalités assurent un niveau de sécurité plus ou moins important. Pensez à comparer les solutions pour en trouver une adaptée à votre activité.

Déléguez la cybersécurité à un expert

La cyber infogérance consiste à déléguer à un tiers spécialisé la gestion et la sécurisation de ses systèmes informatiques et de son infrastructure de réseau. Elle permet à un acteur de ne faire appel qu’à un seul prestataire pour combiner les gestions SI et protection des données sensibles.

Filiale du groupe RAS, TYREX travaille main dans la main avec ARMADA infogérance. Antivirus avancé, VPN, serveurs sécurisés, SOC, différents niveaux de sécurité sont proposés pour assurer l’exploitation des données et la sécurité cyber de l’entreprise.

ÇA VOUS INTÉRESSERA

KUB CLEANER change de nom et devient TYREX

KUB CLEANER change de nom et devient TYREX

Objectif : lancer notre nouvelle stratégie de croissance à grande échelle Créé en 2017, TYREX (ex KUB), leader français des solutions de décontamination USB, change de nom et lance sa nouvelle stratégie de croissance qui lui permettra d’étendre ses parts de marché en...

RETROUVEZ NOS autres ARTICLES DE LA MÊME CATÉGORIE

KUB CLEANER change de nom et devient TYREX

KUB CLEANER change de nom et devient TYREX

Objectif : lancer notre nouvelle stratégie de croissance à grande échelle Créé en 2017, TYREX (ex KUB), leader français des solutions de décontamination USB, change de nom et lance sa nouvelle stratégie de croissance qui lui permettra d’étendre ses parts de marché en...

lire plus

CONTACTEZ-NOUS !

2 RUE DU 19 MARS 1962
92 110 CLICHY – FRANCE

+33 (0)1 74 90 39 00

CONTACT@TYREX-CYBER.COM